Visa Free Countries For South Africans

Planning on traveling soon? If you're a South African passport holder, you'll find out below which countries you can travel to visa free.

Table of Contents

South Africans are avid travelers, and with their passports in hand, they are ready to explore the world. However, visa applications can be a cumbersome process, and can dampen the enthusiasm for international travel.

Luckily, there are visa-free countries that South Africans can visit with ease. In this comprehensive guide, we will explore the visa-free countries for South Africans, and all that they have to offer.

South Africa has the 50th best overall passport for travel, improving from its ranking last year. It is the third best African passport to have (behind Mauritius and Seychelles).

The best passports to have in order include: Japan, Singapore, Germany, South Korea, Finland, France, Italy, Spain and Sweden.

Why Travel to Visa-Free Countries

Visa-free countries offer South African travelers the opportunity to explore new destinations without the hassle of visa applications. They also offer a range of benefits, including affordable travel, cultural experiences, and exotic landscapes.

South African Passport Visa-Free Countries

As of November 2023, South African passport holders can travel visa free to 74 countries and territories:

Angola Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Bahamas Barbados
Belize Benin Botswana Brazil British Virgin Islands
Cayman Islands Chile Cook Islands Costa Rica Dominica
Dominican Republic Ecuador El Salvador Falkland Islands Fiji
Gabon Georgia Ghana Grenada Guatemala
Guyana Haiti Honduras Hong Kong Ireland
Israel Jamaica Kenya Kiribati Kosovo
Lesotho Macau Malawi Malaysia Mauritius
Micronesia Montserrat Mozambique Namibia Nicaragua
Niue Pakistan Palestine Panama Paraguay
Peru Philippines Qatar Réunion Russia
Singapore South Korea Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Suriname Tanzania Thailand Gambia Togo
Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turks and Caicos Islands Uruguay Vanuatu
Venezuela Zambia Zimbabwe Eswatini

South African Passport eVisa Countries

The following 26 countries issue eVisas for South African passport holders. An eVisa, or electronic visa, is an online version of a traditional visa that allows individuals to apply for and obtain travel authorization through a secure website. Instead of obtaining a physical visa stamp or label in their passport, travelers with an approved eVisa receive an electronic confirmation that they can present upon arrival at their destination.

Albania Azerbaijan Bhutan Burkina Faso Democratic Republic of the Congo
Ivory Coast Djibouti Egypt Equatorial Guinea Guinea
India Iran Japan Kazakhstan Moldova
Mongolia Myanmar Nigeria Oman Papua New Guinea
São Tomé and Príncipe South Sudan Tajikistan Türkiye Uganda

South African Passport Visa On Arrival Countries

If you are a South African citizen, you can get a visa on arrival for the 29 countries listed below. A visa on arrival (VOA) is a type of visa that is obtained at the destination country’s port of entry rather than in advance at an embassy or consulate. Travelers who are eligible for a visa on arrival can apply for and receive the visa when they arrive at the airport or border crossing.

Armenia Bahrain Bolivia Burundi Cambodia
Cabo Verde Comoros Ethiopia Guinea-Bissau Indonesia
Jordan Kyrgyzstan Laos Madagascar Maldives
Marshall Islands Mauritania Nepal Palau Rwanda
Saudi Arabia Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Somalia
Sri Lanka Saint Helena Timor-Leste Tuvalu

Tips for Traveling to Visa-Free Countries

When traveling to visa-free countries, South Africans should be aware of local customs, laws, and regulations. It is important to do research on the destination beforehand and to pack appropriately for the climate and culture. It is also advisable to purchase travel insurance and to keep important documents, such as passports and visas, in a safe place.


Travel is an important aspect of life, and South Africans are fortunate to have visa-free countries to explore. This guide has highlighted some of the top visa-free destinations for South Africans, as well as tips for traveling to these destinations. By following these tips and exploring these destinations, South Africans can have a memorable travel experience.

Share post